Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Guide on How to Permanently Delete InstaGram Accounts Through Apps and the Web

If you have made the decision to delete your Instagram account, maybe because you no longer need it or because you want to create a new account, then you can delete the account using the application or via the website.

But to do so is not as fast and easy as deleting photos from the gallery. Here are the quickest steps to delete your Instagram account:

How to Delete Instagram Via iOS or Android App

The easiest way for iPhone users to delete Instagram is to use an app.

-Go to your profile.

-Secondly, tap on the three-line menu at the top right, and select “Settings.”

-Next select “Account,” and scroll down to the bottom of the menu. There will be a “Delete Account” button under “Branded Content.” If you tap on it, it will bring up a menu asking if you want to delete or deactivate the account. Pressing the delete account button will bring up a message saying that you can cancel the deletion process on a certain date if you want to log back in.

-Once sure, tap the red button to continue deleting the account, and the app will open a web page.

-Here, you can complete the deletion process after you have answered the question of why deleting the account, and entered the password.

-Finally, confirm.

Unfortunately, this option is not always available in the Android version of the app. But you can still delete it using the web.

How to Delete Instagram Account on Website

If you can't use the app to delete your account, you have to follow these steps. This one method can be followed using a computer or cellphone, as long as you use a browser.

-First, you have to go directly to the special Instagram account deletion request page, which can be clicked here, or by following the link in the Instagram account deletion help article. Well, if you haven't logged in to Instagram for the web, you have to log in first.

-After logging in, you will be on a page with the old Instagram logo and you will get a question about why you want to delete your account.

-Whichever you choose, there will be a box under the link asking to re-enter your password. After doing so, tap or click the button that says “Delete (your account name),” and confirm that you are sure.

As Instagram has said several times on the account deletion page, the data you request to delete will not be deleted immediately. Meta will keep it for 30 days. But your profile and posts will be hidden from search.

How to Undelete Instagram Account

Change mind? Be aware that you won't be able to restore your account if it's been more than 30 days since you asked Instagram to delete it. So, you have to re-create the account. The username will be released once the account is deleted, but it's possible that someone has already used it.

However, if you are within that 30 day time period, you can get your account back. Complete with posts and DM. To do so, simply go back to Instagram and log in with the log-in history.

Next, you will see a message saying that you have requested the account to be deleted, along with the date the data will be lost. To prevent that from happening, simply hit the “Save Account” button. (*)

Photo source: CyberGhost VPN

Post a Comment for "Guide on How to Permanently Delete InstaGram Accounts Through Apps and the Web"